This was my second visit to the Self-Realization Fellowship Lake Shrine in Malibu. It’s a beautiful place, only a few blocks from the beach. You’d miss it if you didn’t know it was there because the property is surrounded by a thick layer of trees. It’s meant to be a place of meditation and reflection, a haven from the rest of Los Angeles.

Some beautiful statues line the path. This one, I assume of Mary and the baby Jesus, was tucked away in an indoor garden.

I love swans. For some reason, this picture makes me think of a ballet. Swan Lake, perhaps?

I believe this guy was some type of heron. I was definitely not expecting to see a bird like him, and almost didn’t, as he blended so expertly with the trees and rocks. At this point, I had taken so many shots of him that I think he had become annoyed with me.

A turtle emerging mysteriously from the waters.

The grounds themselves are unique and lovely, but I was more interested in the animals and birds this time. I was too preoccupied taking photos to really appreciate the meditative nature of the setting, so maybe next time I’ll leave the camera at home and just enjoy the Lake Shrine.

